Special Election Results – Police Department Employee Member of the Board


LAFPP welcomes Commissioner Paul M. Weber, the Police Department Employee Member of the Board of Fire and Police Pension Commissioners! On October 4th, Commissioner Weber will be sworn-in at the Board meeting and fulfill his fiduciary responsibilities as a Board member.

On August 28, 2018, a special election was held to fill the vacancy created by former Commissioner Robert von Voigt, who resigned from the Board effective September 30, 2018. Commissioner Weber won a plurality of the votes cast in the special election and will serve the remaining 21 months of a 5-year term ending June 30, 2020.

Commissioner Weber is a 34-year-veteran of the Los Angeles Police Department and currently serves as a Captain at the Devonshire Station.

Captain Weber has a strong background in public safety labor management issues. For 11 years, he was a Director with the Los Angeles Police Protective League, representing pension matters among many others, on behalf of over 9,900 dedicated and professional sworn members of the Los Angeles Police Department.  For several years, he also served as the Union President.

Welcome Commissioner Weber and congratulations on your election!