Election of 2017-2018 Board Officers


Each year, the Board of Fire and Police Pension Commissioners elect its Officers of the Board during the second meeting in July. On July 20, 2017, the Board elected Commissioners Ruben Navarro and Corinne Babcock as the new President and Vice President, respectively. 

Commissioner Navarro was first elected to the Board by the active members of the Los Angeles Fire Department in November 2009. He was recently re-elected to a second term, beginning July 2017 through June 2022. He succeeds Commissioner Pedram Salimpour, MD, who served as Board President since July 2016.

The primary responsibilities of Board President are to oversee the administration of the pension system; its assets, investments, actuarial services, rules and regulations. Furthermore, the Board President provides leadership in furthering the mission of LAFPP “to advance the health and retirement security of those who dedicate their careers and risk their lives to protect the people of Los Angeles,” and the delivery of professional and prompt services to over 25,000 active and retired members. The Board President also exercises the following duties:

  • Approves the Board agenda; presides at all Board meetings, ensuring that such meetings are conducted in an efficient manner and in accordance with the City Charter and Administrative Code, applicable public meeting laws, and relevant Board policies;
  • Determines who shall act as spokesperson for the System should the need arise; and,
  • Approves the travel expenses incurred by the General Manager and the Board, as appropriate.

As Vice President, Commissioner Corinne Babcock will assume the duties of the Board President when the President is absent or if the President should delegate the Vice President to act.  She will also assume the duties of the President if the President becomes unable to carry out his duties. Commissioner Babcock was appointed to the Board by Mayor Eric Garcetti in December 2013. She is currently serving her second term that ends in June 2019.

Congratulations to Commissioners Navarro and Babcock as they begin their new roles on the Board!