Election of Board Officers


Each year, the Board of Fire and Police Pension Commissioners elect its Officers of the Board during the last meeting in July.  On July 16, 2015, the Board elected Commissioners Robert von Voigt and Pedram Salimpour as the new President and Vice President, respectively. 

Commissioner von Voigt was originally elected to the Board by active Police members on December 1, 2008 and succeedsBelinda Vega, who served as Board President since July 2014.  As President, he will preside over the Board’s primary responsibility to oversee the administration of the pension system; its assets, investments, actuarial services, rules and regulations.  Additionally, the Board President provides leadership in furthering the mission of LAFPP “to advance the health and retirement security of those who dedicate their careers and risk their lives to protect the people of Los Angeles,” and the delivery of professional and prompt service to over 25,000 active and retired members.  The Board President also exercises the following duties:

  • Appoints Board members to committees;
  • Approves the Board agenda; presides at all Board meetings, ensuring that such meetings are conducted in an efficient manner and in accordance with the City Charter and Administrative Code, applicable public meeting laws, and relevant Board policies;
  • Determines who shall act as spokesperson for the System should the need arise; and,
  • Approves the travel expenses incurred by the General Manager and the Board, as appropriate.

As Vice President, Commissioner Pedram Salimpour will assume the duties of the Board President when the President is absent or if the President should delegate the Vice President to act.  He will also assume the duties of the President if the President becomes unable to carry out his or her duties.  Commissioner Salimpour was appointed to the Board in May 2013 by Mayor Villaraigosa and re-appointed in November 2013 by Mayor Garcetti.  Commissioner Salimpour succeeds Commissioner von Voigt, who served as the Board’s Vice President since July 2014.

The Board consists of nine commissioners.  Commissioner von Voigt is one of the four Board members elected by plan members and Commissioner Salimpour is one of the five commissioners appointed by the Mayor.